The official competition draw for the pool stages of the championship will take place on Monday 12th December at the historic Cardiff Castle. Steeped in history, the world-renowned castle will provide an impressive venue for the draw as our eight competing nations find out who they’ll collide with in the opening stages of the competition.

How the draw will work

The eight competing nations - Great Britain, France, Denmark, Germany, Switzerland, Netherlands, Israel and Czech Republic – will be drawn into two pools of four for the opening stage of the five-day championship. Teams will be paired up based on their world rankings, as follows:

GBR (3) and FRA (5)
DEN (7) and GER (9)
SWI (12) and NED (14)
ISR (20) and CZE (23)

Starting with the lowest ranked pair, one team from each pair will be drawn into pool A and one into pool B. Rather than drawing the final pair, as host nation Great Britain will choose which of the two pools they would like to compete in, with France then completing the final pool line-up.

Great Britain Head Coach Paul Shaw will be in attendance in Cardiff to select his team’s pool.

The draw will be conducted by World Wheelchair Rugby president Richard Allcroft and a special guest representing Welsh Rugby Union.

How to follow the draw 

Tune into the live stream on the Channel 4 Sport YouTube channel to watch the draw unfold and find out who your team will face as they kick off their quest for European glory.

Ticket sales

Tickets will go on sale on Tuesday 13th December, following the completion of the draw. Sign up to our email database to get 10% off until 31st January 2023. Subscribe here. For everything you need to know about getting your tickets, click here.